Minutes of the 92th Meeting

of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

(TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting: 13:00-15:00 March 22, 2006

Venue: Bank of Japan

Chairperson: Mr. Nobuyuki Uchida
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Muneaki Kiyota
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto

Secretary: Mr. Tetsuya Inoue

Attending committee members: 17

. Resignation and Election of Members

Mr. Uchida, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Hanao expressed his wish to resign from the Committee and as a result of recruiting new member due to his resignation, he received applications from Mr. Kraft (MorganStanley) .

After reviewing the applications and presentation by the candidates, a vote was taken, and the candidate was elected unanimously as new member of the Committee.

Mr. Uchida reported that his terms of Chairperson would shortly expire. He expressed his wish to serve for another term and was reelected unanimously.

. Activities of Sub-Committees

1. The Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Ito, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported on Business Continuity Plan (BCP) that the Sub-Committee on Market Research proposed that the Committee should organize the group specialized in BCP. He also expressed support to this proposal and proposed that the Sub-Committee on Steering

Committee and the Sub-Committee on Market Research should collaborate in devising its details. All of these proposals were approved.

2. The Sub-Committee on Market Research

Mr. Kiyota, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, proposed that the Committee would officially ask Japanese Bankers Association (JBA) to construct the BCP web site for FX market as a part of that for money market and it was approved.

3. The Sub-Committee on Code-of-Conduct

Mr. Kato, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee discussed on "Code of Conduct" the inclusion of the treatments of "mis-hit" deals and the revision of trading hours pursuant to the proposal by Australian Foreign Exchange Committee about the change of the starting time in the morning of Monday. He also proposed as follows.

- 1. The Committee would not include the treatments of "mis-hit" deals in "Code of Conduct" since it is difficult to build the rule universally applicable to cases when trading vehicles are diversified. Rather, the Sub-Committee would continue to discuss this issue for the overall revision of "Code of Conduct" in the future.
- 2. The Committee would not revise the terms of "Code of Conduct" on the trading hours because the change would not be effective until other relevant documents like "Model Code" have been modified.

2. The Sub-Committee on settlement

Mr. Kato, Member of the Sub-Committee, reported that CLS asked the Committee to recommend the utilization of CLS as a best practice of the settlement of foreign exchange transactions and of the confirmation of NDF transactions.

He also reported that the Sub-Committee would continue to discuss the former request taking into account of the actions by overseas foreign exchange committees, and asked the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters to take care of the latter request.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members

(March 22, 2006)

Members

Chairperson:

Mr. Nobuyuki Uchida* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)

Vice-chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research:

Mr. Muneaki Kiyota* (Mizuho Corporate Bank)

Vice-chairperson:

Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto* (Barclays Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Tetsuya Inoue* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering:

Mr. Koichi Ito* (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:

Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:

Mr. Fumihiko Kawano (Nomura Securities) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Masashi Kobayashi (The Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:

Mr. Noriyuki Kato* (State Street Bank and Trust Company)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Settlement:

Mr. Mr. Atsushi Komatsu (Mizuho Bank) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-commerce:

Mr. Masamichi Koike* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Co.)

Mr. Masayuki Mizukoshi (JPMorgan Chase Bank)
Mr. Kosuke Hanao* (The Royal Bank of Scotland)
Mr. Masayoshi Takegawa* (Merrill Lynch Japan Securities)

Mr. Ryuichi Atsuta* (Bank of America)

Mr. Joseph Kraft* (Morgan Stanley Japan Ltd.)

Mr. Koichi Nakasaki* (Reuters Japan)

Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa* (Tokyo Forex & Ueda Harlow)

Observers

Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi* (Money Brokers Association) Mr. Hisamitsu Tanaka* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)

Mr. Shuichi Kanehira (Mizuho Corporate Bank)
Mr. Takashi Hanajiri* (Ministry of Finance)
Mr. Takashi Muto* (Bank of Japan)

*Attended the meeting.