Minutes of the 30th Meeting of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

Time and Date of the meeting: 13:00-15:20 January 20, 2000

Meeting place: Bank of Japan

Chairperson: Mr. Toshiyuki Morioka (The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi)

Vice-chairpersons: Mr. Takashi Okura (Barclays Bank)

Mr. Takeshi Hanai (The Industrial Bank of Japan)

Secretary: Mr. Masaru Tanaka (Bank of Japan)

The number of the attending committee members: 16

1. Y2K Preparation

Mr. T. Takamatsu, chairperson of the Sub-committee on Risk Management, reported that there were no Y2K-related mishaps effecting markets, and the decrease in liquidity towards the year-end was not so large as anticipated. Some members pointed out that market participants should also pay attention to February 29, because of the same Y2K preparation characteristics.

2. CFD

Mr. H. Mishima, chairperson of the Sub-committee on CFD, reported that Mr. McPherson (FXNET) had attended the meeting of the Sub-committee on December 3, 1999, and explained that (a) the status of preparation for CFD of FXNET and EBS, and (b) MT300 would be used for settling CFDs in SWIFT, and the amendments of ISDA Master Agreement and IFEMA were considered. TFEMC approved Mr. Mishima's proposal for holding the meeting of the Sub-committee and seeing Reuters' demonstration about the contribution to index rate for CFDs. A member said that unclear points about CFD implementation still remains, for instance the realization of Tom-Next CFD.

3. NDF

TFEMC decided to designate Mr. T. Takamatsu for the contact person with the joint working group on NDF, which were set up in the last joint meeting of the Singapore Foreign Exchange Market Committee (SFEMC) and the Foreign Exchange Committee (FXC) of New York. TFEMC also decided the Sub-committee on Legal Matters and the Sub-committee on CFD would examine NDF issues together if necessary.

4. Committee Steering

Mr. H. Kato, chairperson of the Sub-committee on Committee Steering, requested all members to discuss the status of TFEMC in the institutions which they work for. Concerning the point that the present official status of TFEMC is a private study group, some members said that members should appeal to their institutions about achievements and tasks of TFEMC for the sake of acquiring more institutional support. TFEMC required the Sub-committee to continue to actively pursue the issue.

Mr. K. Kobayashi reported that the joint meeting with SFEMC and FXC this year would be held on November 2.

5. The report from the Sub-committee on Education and Public Relations

Mr. H. Note, member of the Sub-committee on Education and Public Relations, reported about the 2nd Forex Seminar held on December 6, 1999.

TFEMC approved Mr. K. Kobayashi's proposal to set up TFEMC's web site, covering its expenses by the existing fund. Then, TFEMC requested the Subcommittee to examine the set-up and operational cost of the web site. Some members commented that TFEMC should carry the minutes of TFEMC on the web site, and reimburse the present postage for the minutes into the cost of the web site.

6. Others

Mr. N. Nakajima reported that the Global Code of Conduct by Committee for Professionalism (CFP) of ACI would be completed soon. TFEMC selected members for a working group to examine the Code.

The Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members' List (January 20, 2000)

Members

Chairperson:

Mr. Toshiyuki Morioka* (The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi)

Vice-chairperson:

Mr. Takeshi Hanai^{*} (The Industrial Bank of Japan)

Mr. Takashi Okura* (Barclays Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Masaru Tanaka* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on Committee Steering:

Mr. Hiromitsu Kato* (The Nomura Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on Education and Public Relations:

Mr. Hidenori Watanabe (The Dai-ichi Kangyo Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on Market Operation:

Mr. Takao Sakoh* (UBS)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on Risk Management:

Mr. Tsutomu Takamatsu* (The Chase Manhattan Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on CFD:

Mr. Hiroshi Mishima* (The Sakura Bank)

Mr. Hirokazu Note* (The Sumitomo Bank)

Mr. Katsuhiko Sugata* (The Fuji Bank)

Mr. Hiroshi Saito (The Mitsubishi Trust and Banking Co.)
Mr. Satoshi Matsuda* (Commonwealth Bank of Australia)

Mr. Nao Nakajima* (Standard Chartered Bank)

Mr. Takahiko Takemoto* (Deutsche Bank)

Mr. Eiichi Ishikawa* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Mr. Shinichiro Ozaki* (Ueda Harlow)
Mr. Noriaki Kanda* (Reuters Japan)
Mr. Masayuki Takaura (The Sanwa Bank)

<u>Observers</u>

Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi^{*} (Money Brokers Association)

Chairperson of the Sub-committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Kazuo Kobayashi* (Bank of Japan)

Note: * tells those that attended the meeting.