# Minutes of the 234<sup>th</sup> Meeting

## of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

## (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting:	September 2 <sup>nd</sup> , 2020(via teleconference)
Chairperson:	Mr. Naoto Nakamura
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Takamoto Osawa
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Takashi Kawaguchi
Secretary:	Mr. Shuntaro Hara
Attending committee members:	26

#### I. Replacement of Observer

Mr. Nakamura, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Sakamoto, Observer of the Committee, would be replaced by Mr. Hasegawa.

#### II. Impact of the Spread of Covid-19

Each member of the Committee shared information on how each company was responding to the spread of Covid-19 based on the results of a survey conducted beforehand.

#### III. Forex Seminar

Mr. Takayama shared members' opinions about digitization of ways to contact and public relation activities in Forex seminar. Many members agreed on his proposals, but some members pointed out the importance of careful information management in terms of compliance.

### IV. Temporary Sub-Committee on Operations

Mr. Hoshino reported members' opinions about establishing a temporary sub-committee in charge of reviewing business process via facsimile machines. Members discussed a schedule, specific activity policies, and membership of subcommittee members.

### V. WG Activity and Next GFXC Conference

Mr. Nakamura proposed reorganizing the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee along activities of the GFXC in order to cooperate with the GFXC in a timelier manner. Members agreed on this proposal. In addition, Mr. Hara shared the agenda items and related issues for discussion in the next GFXC conference call. List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members (September 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2020)

<u>Members</u>		
Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on BCP:		
Mr. Naoto Nakamura*	(MUFG Bank)	
Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce:		
Mr. Takamoto Osawa*	(Barclays Bank)	
Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson	of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:	
Mr. Takashi Kawaguchi*	(Mizuho Bank)	
Secretary:		
Mr. Shuntaro Hara*	(Bank of Japan)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Steering Committee:		
Mr. Tsunemasa Tsukada*	(Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corp.)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:		
Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki*	(EBS Dealing Resources Japan)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:		
Mr. Tomoyuki Itsukaichi*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:		
Mr. Norihiro Takayama*	(Nomura Securities)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research and Buy-side:		
Mr. Masaru Ishibashi*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)	
Mr. Akira Hoshino*	(Citigroup Global Markets Japan)	
Mr. Taiji Hirota*	(JPMorgan Chase Bank)	
Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa*	(Ueda Totan Forex, Ltd)	
Mr. Yuji Sokawa*	(Refinitiv)	
Mr. Makoto Miyazaki*	(CLS)	
Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa*	(National Australia Bank Limited)	
Mr. Takuya Iwasaki*	(Bank of America, N.A.)	
Mr. Takayuki Ohkuma*	(Nomura Asset Management Co., Ltd.)	
Mr. Takashi Kuwano*	(Goldman Sachs Securities)	
Mr. Hirotsugu Inoue*	(BNP Paribas Bank)	
Associate Members		
Mr. Yusuke Ito*	(Money Brokers Association)	
Mr. Noriaki Koyanagi*	(MUFG Bank)	
Mr. Junpei Tanaka*	(Mizuho Bank)	
Ms. Kotone Nakano*	(Barclays Bank)	
Mr. Yuki Uchiyama*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)	
Mr. Jun Shiobara*	(Bank of Japan)	

# <u>Observer</u>

Mr. Minoru Hasegawa\*

\*Attended the meeting.

(Ministry of Finance)