Minutes of the 145th Meeting

of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

(TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting:	13:00-14:15 September 21st, 2011
Venue:	Bank of Japan
Chairperson:	Mr. Akira Hoshino
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Hokuto Nakano
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto
Secretary:	Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi
Attending committee members:	19

I. Resignation and Election of Members

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that the term of Mr. Ishikawa and Mr. Hirota as a member of the Committee would shortly expire. Both members expressed their wishes to serve on the Committee for another term and were approved unanimously.

II. Resignation of Members

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Odagawa, member of the Committee, would resign the Committee.

III. Replacement of Associate Members

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Noguchi, Associate Member of the Committee, would be replaced by Mr. Ito.

IV. Activities of Sub-Committees

1. Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Tsukada, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that a working-level talk had been held to consider (i) expanding the number of financial institutions for the "Turnover Survey of Tokyo FX Market," (ii) increasing the frequency of the survey to twice a year, and (iii) reviewing survey items.

In addition, Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, suggested that the Committee send some members to the operation manager's meeting to be held in October by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and the New York Foreign Exchange Committee.

2. Sub-Committee on Legal Matters

Mr. Imanishi, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee had reached a conclusion that the Committee should seek public comment in order to reflect investors' opinions in the recommendation of the dollar/yen rate, which is used to calculate the fixing rate of NDF transactions. The Committee agreed on seeking public comments. It also decided to discuss specific questions and how to invite the comments in the next meeting after the Sub-Committee's review.

3. Sub-Committee on BCP

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that the next joint BCP exercise is likely to be conducted in January or February 2012. He also explained that an earthquake in a metropolitan area with a seismic intensity of 7 or greater would be assumed in the next exercise.

4. Sub-Committee on Education

Mr. Ishikawa, Vice-Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that 89 people had participated in the joint seminar with ACI Japan on August 29th.

IV. Report on High Frequency Trading in the Foreign Exchange Market

Mr. Takeuchi, Secretary of the Committee, reported that a report on high frequency trading in the foreign exchange market (prepared by a study group of the BIS Markets Committee) would be published in late September. He also mentioned that he would plan to translate at least the executive summary of the report in Japanese and share the translation among members of the Committee. List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members

(September 21st, 2011)

<u>Members</u>

	Chairperson:	
	Mr. Akira Hoshino*	(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)
	Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson	of the Sub-Committee on Market Research:
	Mr. Hokuto Nakano*	(Mizuho Corporate Bank)
	Vice-Chairperson:	
	Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto*	(Barclays Bank)
	Secretary:	-
	Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi*	(Bank of Japan)
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Committee Steering:
	Mr. Tsunemasa Tsukada*	(Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking
C	orp.)	
Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:		
	Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki*	(EBS Dealing Resources Japan)
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Education and Code of Conduct:
	-	(Credit Suisse Securities)
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on Legal Matters:
	_	(Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.)
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	
	Mr. Ryoichi Fukushima*	
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	on E-Commerce:
	Mr. Haruhisa Takagi*	(Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)
	Chairperson of the Sub-Committee	
	Mr. Taiji Hirota*	(JPMorgan Chase Bank)
	Mr. Katsunori Kitakura*	(Chuo Mitsui Trust and Banking)
	Mr. Masatomo Odagawa	(Goldman Sachs Japan Co.)
	Mr. Yuji Sokawa*	(Thomson Reuters Japan)
	Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa*	(Tokyo Forex Ueda Harlow)
	Mr. Tomoo Onishi*	(Deutsche Securities)
	Mr. Hiroshi Maeba	(Nomura Securities)
A	ssociate Members	
<u> </u>	Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi*	(Money Brokers Association)
	Mr. Yusuke Ito*	(Money Brokers Association)
	Mr. Sinichi Tsutsui*	(Mizuho Corporate Bank)
	Mr. Naoki Mori*	(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)
	Mr. Joji Ide*	(Bank of Japan)
\mathbf{O}	-	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
0	<u>bserver</u> Mr. Daisaku Kihara	(Ministry of Finance)
	mr. Daisaku Kinara	(Ministry of Finance)

*Attended the meeting.