### Minutes of the 139<sup>th</sup> Meeting

# of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

## (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting:	13:00-14:00 February 9 <sup>th</sup> , 2011
Venue:	Bank of Japan
Chairperson:	Mr. Akira Hoshino
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Hokuto Nakano
Vice-Chairperson:	Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto
Secretary:	Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi
Attending committee members:	20

#### I. Activities of Sub-Committees

#### 1. Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Inoue, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee had discussed the action plans for fiscal 2011. He stated that the Committee intended to keep collecting and sharing information about the Dodd-Frank Act and the development of CCPs, make recommendations for enhancement of the Tokyo foreign exchange market activities through the Committee's survey, and cooperate with the foreign exchange market committees in Asia.

#### 2. Sub-Committee on Education

Mr. Kawano, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, notified of the upcoming Forex Seminar and reported on information such as the expected number of seminar participants.

#### II. Report on the BIS Market Committee's Discussion

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported on the content of his presentation at the BIS Market Committee in January. He commented that the popularization of margin trading in Japan is partly due to the internal matching of orders between buyers and sellers by a brokerage firm and its behavior to steer orders to other brokerage firms. He also pointed out that from the banks' point of view, although the increase in the trading volume of margin trading improves liquidity in the foreign exchange market, it would lead to the tightening of the bid-ask spreads.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members

(February 9<sup>th</sup>, 2011)

#### <u>Members</u>

Chairperson: Mr. Akira Hoshino\* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ) Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research: Mr. Hokuto Nakano\* (Mizuho Corporate Bank) Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto\* (Barclays Bank) Secretary: Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi\* (Bank of Japan) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering: Mr. Hideaki Inoue\* (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corp.) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations: Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki\* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education: Mr. Fumihiko Kawano\* (Nomura Securities) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters: Mr. Shinji Imanishi (Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct: Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa (BNP Paribas) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Settlement: Mr. Atsushi Komatsu\* (Mizuho Bank) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce: Mr. Haruhisa Takagi\* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.) Mr. Katsunori Kitakura\* (Chuo Mitsui Trust and Banking Co.) Mr. Masatomo Odagawa\* (Goldman Sachs Japan Co.) Mr. Yuji Sokawa\* (Thomson Reuters Japan) Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa\* (Tokyo Forex & Ueda Harlow) Mr. Tomoo Onishi\* (Deutsche Securities) Mr. Taiji Hirota\* (JPMorgan Chase Bank) <u>Associate Members</u> Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi\* (Money Brokers Association) Mr. Yoshiki Yamamoto (Mizuho Corporate Bank) (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ) Mr. Kiyoshi Kuzuhara\* Ms. Maiko Koga\* (Bank of Japan) Observer Mr. Osamu Kawanishi (Ministry of Finance)

\*Attended the meeting.