## Minutes of the 135th Meeting

# of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee

# (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting: 13:00-14:00 July 20th, 2010

Venue: Bank of Japan
Chairperson: Mr. Akira Hoshino
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Hokuto Nakano
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto
Secretary: Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi

Attending committee members: 23

#### I. Resignation and Election of Members

Mr. Miyata, Secretary of the Committee, expressed his wish to resign the Committee, and it was approved.

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that he received an application from Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi (Bank of Japan) as successor to Mr. Miyata, Secretary of the Committee. After listening to Mr. Takeuchi's speech, the candidate was elected as a member of the Committee.

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that Mr. Fujii, Observer of the Committee, would resign the Committee and Mr. Osamu Kawanishi would participate in the Committee as successor.

#### II. Results of "Turnover Survey of Tokyo FX Market"

Mr. Watanabe, Associate Member of the Committee, reported the results of "Turnover Survey of Tokyo FX Market" conducted in April 2010. In addition, Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, reported that the survey results would be published and a press conference would be held at eleven o'clock on July 26<sup>th</sup>.

#### III. Activities of Sub-Committees

#### 1. Sub-Committee on Committee Steering

Mr. Inoue, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee decided to add Mr. Yoshikawa as a new member, following a discussion about adding a member from a foreign financial institution, as was reported at the 133<sup>rd</sup> meeting.

Mr. Inoue, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, also reported that there were several request to participate in the Committee. However, as discussed at the 131<sup>st</sup> meeting, the Sub-Committee reaffirmed to table the election of new members for another time.

#### 2. Sub-Committee on Legal Matters

Mr. Imanishi, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that they held a meeting on June 9<sup>th</sup> and exchanged views on the Financial Services Agency's "Comprehensive Guidelines for Supervision of Major Banks, etc." amended on April 16<sup>th</sup> this year.

In addition, it was reported that the Sub-Committee would continue to seek opinions on possible action plans, including examination of the differences between ISDA and JBA-based foreign exchange agreements in conducting foreign exchange trading with business enterprises.

#### 3. Sub-Committee on BCP

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that the Sub-Committee was in the process of arranging the joint BCP exercise together with money market and securities market participants for November. The next exercise assumes the delay in the settlement due to an earthquake in the early morning.

He also reported to examine the way of streamlining the communicating process based on the lessons learned from the previous exercise.

Furthermore, there was a suggestion to discuss the feasibility of accepting financial institutions who wished to join the joint BCP exercise when renewing the existing BCP-dedicated web site, and the suggestion was approved.

#### 4. Sub-Committee on Settlement

Mr. Komatsu, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that there was a Sub-Committee meeting on July 15<sup>th</sup>, and that they started discussing the slow progress made so far in reducing settlement risk through the usage of CLS by domestic investment funds.

### 5. Sub-Committee on NDF

Mr. Hirota, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee, reported that there was a Sub-Committee meeting on July  $12^{\rm th}$ , and after listing the issues for developing the trading practice of NDF against yen, they mainly discussed how to determine the fixing rate.

# List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members (July 20th, 2010)

#### **Members**

Chairperson:

Mr. Akira Hoshino\* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)

Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research:

Mr. Hokuto Nakano\* (Mizuho Corporate Bank)

Vice-Chairperson:

Mr. Tadahiko Nashimoto\* (Barclays Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Keiichi Miyata\* (Bank of Japan) Mr. Atsushi Takeuchi\* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Committee Steering:

Mr. Hideaki Inoue\* (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:

Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki\* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:

Mr. Fumihiko Kawano\* (Nomura Securities) Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Shinji Imanishi\* (Sumitomo Trust and Banking Co.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:

Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa\* (BNP Paribas)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Settlement: Mr. Atsushi Komatsu\* (Mizuho Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce:

Mr. Haruhisa Takagi\* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Co.)
Mr. Katsunori Kitakura\* (Chuo Mitsui Trust and Banking)

Mr. Masatomo Odagawa\* (Goldman Sachs Securities)

Mr. Yuji Sokawa\* (Reuters Japan)

Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa\* (Tokyo Forex & Ueda Harlow)

Mr. Tomoo Onishi\* (Deutsche Securities)
Mr. Taiji Hirota\* (JPMorgan Chase Bank)

Associate Members

Mr. Yoshihiko Noguchi\* (Money Brokers Association)
Mr. Yoshiki Yamamoto\* (Mizuho Corporate Bank)

Mr. Kiyoshi Kuzuhara\* (Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ)

Mr. Akihiko Watanabe\* (Bank of Japan)

Observer

Mr. Osamu Kawanishi\* (Ministry of Finance)

<sup>\*</sup>Attended the meeting.