Minutes of the 215th Meeting

of the Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee (TFEMC)

Time and date of the meeting: 13:00-13:45 October 12th, 2018

Venue: Bank of Japan
Chairperson: Mr. Akira Hoshino
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Hiroaki Aoyama
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Takamoto Osawa
Secretary: Mr. Toshihisa Hirose

Attending committee members: 23

I. Promotion of the FX Global Code to Market Participants in Japan

Members reported their recent activities, progresses, and next steps to promote adherence and adoption of the FX Global Code (the Code).

Mr. Hirose, Secretary of the Committee, reported recent work and discussions with Global Foreign Exchange Committee (GFXC) colleagues. Mr. Hirose expressed gratitude for all respondents' tribute to the survey on the Code, and explained the GFXC's proposal to take a more strategic approach to each sector.

Mr. Hoshino, Chairperson of the Committee, proposed to engage in close communication with Asian countries to show how much progress had been made in Japan so far and positively influence institutions that had not yet adopted the Code.

II. Others

Mr. Hirose informed members the schedule for the next BIS survey and its briefing meeting.

List of Tokyo Foreign Exchange Market Committee Members (October 12th, 2018)

Members

Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on BCP:

Mr. Akira Hoshino* (MUFG Bank)

Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Code of Conduct:

Mr. Hiroaki Aoyama* (Mizuho Bank)

Vice-Chairperson and Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on E-Commerce:

Mr. Takamoto Osawa* (Barclays Bank)

Secretary:

Mr. Toshihisa Hirose* (Bank of Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Steering Committee:

Mr. Taro Yamauchi* (Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corp.)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations:

Mr. Kazuhiro Ooki* (EBS Dealing Resources Japan)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Legal Matters:

Mr. Shinji Oginuma* (Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Education:

Mr. Norihiro Takayama* (Nomura Securities)

Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Market Research and Buy-side:

Mr. Masaru Ishibashi* (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)

Mr. Taiji Hirota* (JPMorgan Chase Bank) Mr. Masanobu Ishikawa* (Tokyo Forex Ueda Harlow)

Mr. Yuji Sokawa* (Thomson Reuters Japan)

Mr. Makoto Miyazaki* (CLS)

Mr. Koichi Yoshikawa (Bank of New York Mellon Securities)

Mr. Takuya Iwasaki* (Bank of America, N.A.)

Mr. Takeshi Tokita* (BNP Paribas)

Mr. Koichi Kano* (Citigroup Global Markets Japan Inc.) Mr. Takayuki Ohkuma* (Nomura Asset Management Co., Ltd.)

Mr. Takashi Kuwano* (Goldman Sachs Securities)

Associate Members

Mr. Yusuke Ito* (Money Brokers Association)

Mr. Noriaki Koyanagi* (MUFG Bank) Mr. Takefumi Fujihira* (Mizuho Bank)

Mr. Hiroshi Yamamoto (Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.)

Ms. Kotone Nakano* (Barclays Bank) Mr. Kenji Takagi* (Bank of Japan)

Observer

Mr. Koji Uemura (Ministry of Finance)

^{*}Attended the meeting.